Chapter 18: News, birthdays and artists

Soon after Camilla’s birthday, our beloved Castor dropped by to check out his new siblings and to catch up with everyone else.

He, himself, had some exciting news to share as well.

07-20-15_7-00 PM-2

C: “Yesterday, I’ve become a father.”

It’s true! The very first Rossini grandchild was born last night. And the first one was immediately followed by the second one – yes, Annabeth gave birth to twins!
First was a girl named Isis (It’s fun that the game chose a mythological name for the first grandchild of my legacy, isn’t it?) and a baby boy named Ross. I can’t wait to visit them.

Naturally, everyone wanted to hear more about the babies. But Castor  wanted to know what’s new in his old home. He noticed Melia’s depressed face and wanted to help.

07-20-15_6-57 PM

“What’s up, sis? You look like you could use a visit of the Tragic Clown.”

“It’s nothing, Castor, don’t worry about me, I’m fine,” she said and she walked away.
Castor knows his sister a little too well to believe her, but he knew she would tell him if she wanted to.

Melia decided to play some chess, far away from her noisy family, but she couldn’t focus.

07-20-15_7-01 PM

‘I don’t even know why I lied.’

07-20-15_7-01 PM-3

‘Oh, yes, because I am a horrible person who hates his own siblings and I don’t want my big brother to know.’

07-20-15_7-01 PM-2

‘Or worse… to tell Mom about it.’

07-20-15_7-01 PM-4

‘But on the other hand, it’s really hard to keep all this misery to myself. Aah, what should I do?’

Melia was feeling very ashamed of her feelings, because let’s face it – sibling rivalry is only acceptable, when you are like four years old. A (almost) grown up woman shouldn’t worry about such things.

But she did worry and when she realized how busy Castor will be in the next few months, she decided to talk to him.

07-20-15_7-02 PM-3

“Castor, I don’t want you to think badly about me after what I’ll tell you.”

07-20-15_7-02 PM-4

“The thing is… I’m really upset about the new kids. I think everything was better before, when Devi was the youngest…”

She felt so bad about saying those awful things.
“I think Mom and Dad shouldn’t have had more children, you know. I was happier without them. I know it’s terrible.”

But to Melia’s big surprise, Castor laughed: “Don’t torture yourself with guilt for feeling like this. It’s normal.”

07-20-15_7-02 PM-5

“Do you think I was happy when Mama brought this ugly brat home? No! I HATED him. So much!”

07-20-15_7-03 PM-2

“And now, I love him to death. He’s probably my favourite brother.”

Melia remembered those days when they were so young and smiled. She felt a little better that Castor understood it and didn’t judge her, but still…

07-20-15_7-06 PM-2

C: “I know it’s hard for you, Mels. But believe me, it’ll pass. They’ll grow up fast and once they’re older, you’ll have friends in them, I promise.”

“I guess you’re right,” she nodded thanfully.
“Of course I am,” he lauged, “I am a Genius, remember?”

And speaking of growin up, it was Evander’s turn to jump out of the bassinet.

07-20-15_7-28 PM

He’s gloomy and his aspiration is Artistic Prodigy (Again! He’s forth Rossini child to have it! Unbelievable!)

But look at him! Earrings! Bracelets! Jeans with a paint on them! He already looks like a proper artist!

07-20-15_7-28 PM-2

E: “Looks like I’m the coolest kid ever.”

And first thing he did? He ignored the delicious meal Melia prepared for dinner and he rather had some delicious yoghurt! So young and already so aware of family customs.

07-20-15_7-28 PM-4

Adrian is proud of him, too.

And while Evander was getting used to being a child, Devi was saying goodbye to her childhood years. With one day left, she knew she would never complete another aspiration and so she focused on talking about teddy bears and candy. And on telling jokes, of course.

Devi: “Damon, do you know why  a blonde stares really hard on a carton of orange juice?”
Damon (while reading a romance novel): “Nope, no idea.”

08-02-15_1-47 PM-2

“Well, it says ‘concentrate’.”

Her humour is so advanced now, she’s telling all the jokes with a poker face.

Devi really made the most of her childhood. Not only she completed her aspiration, she also did something much more important – had a wonderful time with her family.

07-20-15_7-33 PM

“I love you like a llama joke, Papa.”

And it’s all that matters. At least in this legacy.

08-02-15_1-54 PM-4

Farewell to childhood.

10 thoughts on “Chapter 18: News, birthdays and artists

  1. ninjapigsims says:

    So many wonderful things about this chapter! Castor’s children, his explanation to Melia about having friends in their siblings when they grow older, and Devi’s orange juice joke! 🙂 I don’t know which is my favourite part!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theplumbob says:

    Poor Melia, life sure isn’t easy for her. I loved the conversation she had with Castor, I hope it made her feel a bit better about things. And yay, Castor had twins! I hope they come visit some time – there’s many kids for them to play with in the house!

    Looks like I’m all caught up now – I’ll be looking forward to more updates! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • carovnamaruska says:

      Congrats! I’m glad you like the story. And thank you for all your comments 🙂 You’re really kind.
      And about my updates – I really wish I could write them quicker. It’s taking me so long! I play for months and I’m still on the first generation! I really need to learn how to manage my time xD

      Like

Leave a Reply

