Chapter 16: Eira’s Beginnings – part 3

“I’ve never saw Fabian or Eloise again after that incident. My father took care of that. I’ve never found out what happened to them.

I would probably try to look for them, but my father took care of that, too. I was grounded for life. And to make sure I wouldn’t leave my room, my father hired a bodyguard to guard me.”

4fwegha

“I tried to befriend him, but he acted like… like a doberman guarding his bone. So I had to give up my efforts and deal with a fact that my rebellious teenage years were over. I missed Fabian terribly, but otherwise, my life didn’t really change that much – it was still tedious and boring.”

“And then one day, I came home from school and I found a woman, a complete stranger in my room.”

12-27-15_1-38-33 PM

‘Excuse me, who are you?’

” ‘I’m your new Mom, my darling,’ she said with a fake smile on her beautiful face.

It turned out my father got this interesting idea that I was only acting problematic because I was missing a female role model in my life. So he remarried.”

“His new wife, Giselle,  was stunning, I must admit. But she was also bossy and superficial and the sole purpose of her life was to ruin mine. That and taking care of her glorious hair. She was constantly ordering me what to do and what to wear, complaining about me to my father, mocking me in front of other people, stealing the things of mine that she liked.”

12-27-15_1-40-43 PM

‘Are you really wearing that tonight?’

12-27-15_1-49-56 PM

‘You don’t like it, do you?’

12-27-15_1-51-08 PM

‘Well, it’s improper to show your shoulders like that. And the pink skirt is hideous.’

12-27-15_1-52-01 PM

‘In that case…Yes! I’m wearing it!’

“I hated every minute spent in her presence. And since father wanted her to be my role model, she was spending a lot of time with me, lecturing me about my posture and my hairstyle and other boring stuff.

And the worst thing was that I had to obey her every word because father told me he would throw me out of the house otherwise. And although I hated that place, I couldn’t imagine leaving. I was absolutely incapable of living on my own, you know. Growing up surrounded by maids, cooks, butlers and chauffeurs – I would die after a week in the outside world. So I had no choice.”

“One of Giselle’s duties was to help me prepare for various social events. My first ball was one of them. It was probably the only thing I was excited about since my mama died. I remembered all the stories she used to tell me about her balls and dates and dresses and dances…she made it sound so fun and I was curious.

But, of course, Giselle ruined it completely. I wanted to wear one of my mom’s dresses. It meant a great deal to me, because mom told me she was keeping them for my first ball. But they were red and Giselle said it would be improper for a girl my age to wear red. So she bought me another dress and do you know what she did with the red one?

She wore it herself.

But at least I could wear mama’s jewellery. And I also did my hair to appear similar to mama’s hairstyle. Makeup, too. Giselle frown upon me and said I looked like an old-fashioned moron but it was too late to re-do it.”

12-27-15_1-58-09 PM

‘Oh, Mom! How I wish you were here.’

“I’m not gonna tease you, my dear. That ball was an absolute disaster. My father told me Nicolas was the only boy I was allowed to dance with. And I, obviously, said that I wouldn’t even look at that blonde monster, which caused a lot of yelling and cursing.

I tried to leave, of course, but the bodyguard got paid extra to keep me there. Oh, and Giselle ruined mama’s dress. She was looking me in the eye and smiling maniacally when she spilled blueberry juice on it.”

“I couldn’t hold back the tears when I saw it. I knew it was stupid to cry over a piece of fabric, but that dress represented the life my mama never got to live, the life where she saw me grow up. I went to my father and told him how Giselle was treating me, how she was stealing from mom’s rooms or mine and how manipulative and vain she was.”

01-05-16_1-11-41 AM

“And do you know what he told me?”

01-05-16_1-13-24 AM

‘Giselle is my wife and what is mine is hers now. And I have something important to tell you – Giselle is pregnant. She and the baby…they’ll need some additional space soon, you see. So I want you to pack some stuff, because I’m sending you to live with Nicolas and his parents.’

01-05-16_1-13-27 AM

‘Nicolas’ father and I, we’d agreed some time ago that you and Nicolas will be wed as soon as you finish your studies, so..it’s time for you two to get to know each other better.’

“I couldn’t believe my ears. The shock that came after that information paralyzed me completely and I didn’t know what to do. Cry? Curse? Yell? Kill him?

I felt like my life was over.”

01-05-16_1-16-28 AM

“As you wish, my dear father.”

“But instead of a reaction, I just agreed with him, stood up and walked away. I didn’t even look at him.

My bravery and pride only lasted until I got into my room. As soon as I shut the door I had a complete breakdown and I cried uncontrolably for hours.”

01-18-16_1-59-09 PM

“This can’t be happening.”

“I hated that life and I hated that family. I hated everyone in the house, including me. Especially me. I acted like I was different but I was just like them. I was a part of it all, playing their game according to their rules and for what? For all the luxury and wealth. The realization made me so sick I couldn’t even look at myself in the mirror without disgust.”

12-27-15_2-03-42 PM

‘I don’t want to live like this.’

“But my hands were tied and the helplessness was killing me. But then I looked at myself again. I looked at my dress and mama’s diamond earrings in my ears. And I got the idea.

First, I grabbed a pair of scissors and cut my hair.”

01-18-16_2-04-20 PM

‘Well, I have many talents but hairdressing ain’t one of them, I guess.’

“Second, I called my ladies’ maid, Valerie. And I told her what happened.”

01-18-16_2-17-13 PM

‘You have to help me, Valerie, please.’

 

01-18-16_2-18-17 PM

‘But what can I do, Your Highness? I’m just a maid.’

“So I shared my plans with her.”

01-18-16_2-18-38 PM

‘Some plain, practical clothes…’

“She didn’t like it at all.”

01-18-16_2-18-55 PM

‘Are you sure about this, Princess? It could end up terribly wrong…’

“But she agreed to do her best.

And so I sneaked out of my room in the middle of the night. The bodyguard was not there – Valerie asked some other maids to entertain him for awhile.

She waited in the kitchen.”

01-18-16_2-35-31 PM

‘I prepared everything you asked for, Princess. And I made some toasts you can take with you…’

01-18-16_2-36-02 PM

‘Just…be careful out there, please. If something happens to you…’

01-18-16_2-37-10 PM

‘Whatever happens, Valerie, you’ll never know. But I promise only good thing will happen to me from now on.’

01-18-16_2-34-34 PM

‘And I want you to remember this day as the day you saved my life. Thank you.’

“I had no time for long goodbyes, so I just grabbed the stuff and rushed to the nearest bathroom to change. I was very pleased with the results.”

01-18-16_3-04-32 PM

‘I look so ordinary, like a regular girl. No one will ever suspect my royal heritage.’

“I checked my backpack again. Mama’s diamond earrings were there, along with some shirts, socks, Valerie’s toasts and my favourite fairytale book. I was ready to go.”

“So I sneaked out, my heart beating so loudly I was sure someone in the house was going to hear it and stop me. I could barely breathe.”

01-18-16_3-22-33 PM

‘I’m insane.’

“After a few meters, I hesitated. I looked in front of me and thought of the vast, unknown world that was waiting for me there. I was so terrified that my body started shaking. I wanted to turn around and go back to my own bed.”

01-18-16_3-25-45 PM

‘I’m never going to make it.’

“Then I looked back and remembered how I loved my home. How I used to love my princess life. I’ve always thought it was because of all those cool books and clothes I owned, the history of our house and our family, the comfort of having dozens of servants…but it wasn’t like that. The only thing I loved about that place was the memory of my mom in its corridors.”

01-18-16_3-25-04 PM

‘But she’s gone now…’

01-18-16_3-25-32 PM

‘…and so will I.’

 

9 thoughts on “Chapter 16: Eira’s Beginnings – part 3

    • carovnamaruska says:

      Yay, you noticed! 😀 I should probably let Rory know that I borrowed him…

      And thanks for support, ninjapig ❤ Luckily we already know it ended up well! 🙂 (Although, at this point I was so hooked that I was thinking about a miniseries about Eira's journey to Willow Creek. But then I remembered the screenshotng and I was like…meh… 😀 )

      Liked by 1 person

  1. theplumbob says:

    I loved how it all ties in with both your story and the fairytale, and remains in character for Eira on top of that! Oh, and yay for the sneaky Meatball 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

