Chapter 25: “I do”

Next day, Dory way trying to calm down, but she was so freakin’ nervous about this whole wedding thing.

03-18-16_12-11-55 PM

“Eudora Rossini, get your plum together! It’s supposed to be a joyous day for you.”

But she had weird dreams that night. Livid, colorful, confusing. She woke up at 4 a.m., sweating and tense. And then she remembered her conversation with Devi.

03-18-16_12-11-09 PM

“What if he really wants kids? He mentioned something about kids yesterday.”

03-18-16_12-11-34 PM

“He’s a romantic in his heart. I bet he wants the traditional life. Wife, kids, white pickett fence…”

03-18-16_12-12-24 PM

“But that’s not for me. I wanna be a bodybuilder, a professional. Attend competitions, travel the world. I can’t do that with a kid.”

03-18-16_12-13-06 PM

“And I’m sure as hell I don’t want to pass my insanity on another human being.”

She was sure Alfred would understand that. Just thinking about him made her smile and dissolved all her doubts. She inhaled slowly and smiled weakly at her reflection.

03-18-16_12-10-55 PM

“It’s gonna be alright. We’re meant to be.”

She took a quick shower, tasted chocolate truffles Melia prepared for the wedding and did her make-up. Soon after that, her sisters informed her it was already time to go.

The wedding was taking place at the same venue Castor got married. Dory wasn’t even born back then and suddenly she was getting married herself. It was insane to think about.

The entire family was there. Castor and Damon with their families, all her sisters with their boyfriends…even Evander travelled all the way from Windenburg just to be there on her big day. He even brought his “just good friend and roomate” Kaya with him.

They all looked amazing, of course.

03-18-16_12-34-03 PM

Alfred had only two guests – his mom and uncle Alexander. They looked somehow lonely and lost in that huge crowd of Rossinis, but very elegant.

Melia felt all kind of emotion when she saw her ex-boyfriend. She was glad to see he’s doing well, sorry for losing a friend she had in him, embarrassed for bringing her new boyfriend with her.

She wasn’t sure if it was a good idea to talk to him, but she couldn’t help it.

03-18-16_12-44-58 PM

“Hey.”

03-18-16_12-45-16 PM

“Hey. Long time no see, huh?”

03-18-16_12-45-38 PM

“Yeah…so, hm…how’s life?”

They talked for a while, but it was awkward. Melia soon ran out of safe topics and her mind kept going back to their break-up and all those things they’ve left unsolved. Part of her wanted to forget, but the other part wanted to talk about it and apologize and let him know she never meant to hurt him.

“I’m glad we met. I know things were complicated with me and I’m sorr….” she started her brave speech but Alexander interrupted her.

03-18-16_12-45-46 PM

“This is not about us, okay? Let’s focus on my nephew and your sister now.”

Melia nodded and wanted to leave when she heard Alexander’s cold, almost angry voice again.

03-18-16_12-45-19 PM

“But…what? What is it? What’s happening?!”

He was pointing to the wedding arch in front of them. Dory and Alfred were already there in their matching festive outfits and ceremony was about to start.

Or it was supposed to start, but…

03-18-16_12-38-18 PM

A: “Listen up, babe…I’ve been thinking…”

03-18-16_12-38-12 PM

D: “Yeah, I’ve been thinking, too. It looked like a great idea yesterday, but right now…I don’t know. I don’t feel like it.”

03-18-16_12-38-31 PM

D: “You know…I love you. And I always will. But the truth is, I’m not the right woman for you. We are two very different people, you and I.”

03-18-16_12-38-48 PM

A: “What are you saying, Dory? I…I  was only implying that maybe…maybe we rushed too much into this! I just wanted to…I don’t know… postpone the wedding or something. Until we’re more…independent. And actually freakin’ ready. And you! You break up with me! Just like that! You can’t do this!”

03-18-16_12-38-57 PM

D: “I can. And I have to. If we’re not ready now, why would we be ready later in life? Time is not going to change me.”

03-18-16_12-39-08 PM

A: “But why did you come up with this whole madness?  It was your freakin’ idea to get married! You’re so plumming unpredictable!”

03-18-16_12-38-43 PM

D: “Exactly. I’m unpredictable. Unstable. I change my opinions and plans every day. Maybe even more often. I wouldn’t be a good wife to you. I’d only be a burden for you,  an obstacle between you and your dreams.”

Alfred was just staring at her, devastated. His eyes were slowly filling up with tears.

03-18-16_12-36-06 PM

A: “You don’t have to do this. We’ll make it work, I promise. I know  this is just one of your mood swings. You’ll change your mind tomorrow. You’ll regret this.”

03-18-16_12-40-38 PM

D: “I know. And that’s the problem. Imagine that we stay together and then one day, twenty years from now, I’ll have one of my mood swings again and I’ll decide to left you for good and become a buddhist nun in Shang Simla?”

03-18-16_12-40-43 PM

D: “Trust me, Alfred. I’m doing you a favour. I’m saving you from a much bigger heart-break. And I know that deep inside…you feel like this, too.”

She hugged him quickly and walked away, leaving disappointed Alfred and very confused wedding guests behind.

03-18-16_12-46-53 PM

Alexander: “What is it with you Rossini girls? Why do you like breaking the hearts of Goth men like this?”

With the bride out of the picture and with the groom in the middle of emotional breakdown, the overall atmosphere quickly changed from cheerful expectation to awkward bewilderment. Nobody knew what to do. Alfred’s family walked away, swearing and grumbling angrily and Eudora’s siblings just stood around, secretly hoping someone else would step in and do something. Anything.

And then, Chris’ voice broke the silence.

03-18-16_12-49-18 PM

C: “Well, it looks like the ‘Bride and Groom’ position is now open.”

Everyone looked at him as he continued, his eyes set on Melia’s curious face.

03-18-16_12-49-00 PM

“I’m not sure if my behaviour is appropriate – it probably isn’t –  but I’ve been thinking about this for quite some time and Melia…”

03-18-16_12-49-51 PM

“There’s something I want to ask you, so could you, please, stand up?”

Melia’s heart was beating so loud and fast that everyone in the room must have heard it. She felt weak in her knees when she stood up and her head was spinning.

‘Oh, my Watcher, is he doing what I think he’s doing?’

03-18-16_12-51-13 PM

“Melia Rossini.”

‘Wow, he IS doing it.’

03-18-16_12-51-21 PM

“If I could, I would buy you a shiny car, or a castle or an island or all of the above. I would give you all the fancy things you deserve. Unfortunately, I can’t – yet.”

Melia laughed nervously and the rest of the guest laughed with her.

03-18-16_12-51-33 PM

“At the moment, I have nothing else to give but love. And the rest of my life. And I hope it’s enough for you to become my wife.  Right here, right now.”

Melia was stunned. One moment, her heart was breaking over her sister’s crushed hopes and then suddenly, this man, this wonderful, beautiful man, was asking her to become his wife and making her heart scream with happiness. Everything was happening so fast.

But one look at his face and she realized she was dreaming about this moment for so long.

03-18-16_12-52-05 PM

“Well, let’s do this!”

He took her by the hand and they walked the aisle together, smiling excitedly.

03-18-16_12-59-56 PM

“Are you ready, my love?”

Melia couldn’t believe it. She’s never done anything more crazy. It was so sudden and surprising, so spontaneous and exciting, so incredibly marvelous. She never felt more alive.

03-18-16_12-57-03 PM

“….from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer…”

03-18-16_12-57-06 PM

“…to love and to cherish…”

03-18-16_12-59-32 PM

“…until death do us part.”

 

19 thoughts on “Chapter 25: “I do”

    • carovnamaruska says:

      Haha, thanks. There’s not much to share, but here you go:

      I downloaded MC Command centre and I guess I adjusted it poorly or something. First, Dory and Alfred fell in love through autonomous flirting as teenagers. I never wanted them to, but it wasn’t so bad – I thought I’d make it a brief teenage romance. But then Dory autonomously proposed to him the day they grew up. It was weird, because I didn’t write the previous chapters with their romance in mind, so I felt the proper relationship development between them was missing but I didn’t know what to do, so I just rolled with it, blaming it on Dory’s impulsiveness and insanity. 😀

      I threw a wedding party a few days later (because of work schedules) only to find out that Dory rolled a whim to break up with Alfred! I was all like: are you serious, you spoiled little brat? Haha. But I decided to call off the wedding, because it seemed like too serious a whim to ignore, since I’m trying to play this my sims’ way, (following whims, letting them do thing autonously a lot and all). And I didn’t really see them going long-term. So I let her call it off.

      And right in that moment (Dory and Alfred were still standing under the wedding arch), Chris autonomously proposed to Melia. It was madness, I didn’t know what to screeshot first!

      But yeah, Melia agreed, so I was like “Screw it, I’m not waiting around for another day off.” So i let them marry right then and there.

      So yeah, that’s pretty much it. Needless to say, I removed the MC command mod soon after that 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      • cathytea says:

        I love it! You know… maybe it’s not MC Command Center! They added autonomous propositions and elopements in a recent patch! You wrote it beautifully, and it seems to fit who those sisters are! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • carovnamaruska says:

        Thank you, I tried! 😀

        And I didn’t know about the patch! That’s interesting. Nice touch I guess. It got me unprepared, though! 🙂
        But what can I say – sometimes you play the sims and sometimes your sims play you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. ninjapigsims says:

    This is such an amazing chapter. I loved reading your behind-the-scenes commentary too! I can’t believe all of that happened, but honestly, I think this would fit right into a Disney movie. I’m so happy for Dory and for Melia, in their own respective ways. I’m glad that they’re making decisions that they’re happy with. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • carovnamaruska says:

      It was really crazy. At one point, I was just staring at the screen, thinking “What on Earth has happened to my sims? They used to be so well-behaved!”

      But I’m really glad you enjoyed it. I feared it would be too crazy to digest!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. theplumbob says:

    Oh wow, what a turn of events! Melia sure got the ball rolling lol! She looked beatufil too. But woah, I didn’t expect that at all. Do sims ever back out of marriage? I read your response to Cathy’s comment, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a sim whim to break up with someone!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carovnamaruska says:

      Non-commital and childlish sims sometimes refuse the proposal or run away from altar (that is around from TS2). And I’ve seen an awful lot of break-up wishes back in TS3 days. My simself once rolled a break-up wish after the wedding night, haha 😀

      In TS4, it happened to me just this once. I guess, it’s rare but possible. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • theplumbob says:

        Oh yes I’ve definitely seen it in previous iterations. In TS4 I’ve had proposal rejctions (two different kinds actually, with one looking a lot harsher than the other), but that’s it. I would kind of love it if they really did run away from the altar! I don’t recall any breakup whims in TS4 either, though you can usually kind of sense if the sims are getting fed p with each other, I reckon.

        Like

      • carovnamaruska says:

        I’ve only saw running away from the altar in TS2 and I do wish it back ever since 😀

        I was sure Dory had a break-up whim, but now that you’ve mentioned it I’m not so sure – maybe it was just a Be Mean to Alfred whim? Or Ask Alfred to be just friends? It must have been something like that because that’s why I called off the wedding. I can’t remember, though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

